## New national sides of euro circulation coins

(2010/C 309/04)

On 13 July 2010 the Council of the European Union decided that the Republic of Estonia fulfils the necessary conditions for the adoption of the euro on 1 January 2011 (<sup>1</sup>).

From 1 January 2011 the Republic of Estonia will therefore issue euro coins, subject to the approval by the ECB of the volume of the issue (cf. Article 128(2) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union).

Euro circulation coins have legal tender status throughout the euro area. The Commission publishes all new euro coin designs  $(^2)$  with a view to informing all parties required to handle coins in the course of their work as well as the public at large.

The 10-, 20- and 50-cent coins and the 1- and 2-euro coins will be issued by the Republic of Estonia with the new common sides of the euro coins (<sup>3</sup>). The smallest denomination coins (1-, 2- and 5-cent) will be issued with the original common side, since the common side of these denominations has not been modified.



Issuing country: Republic of Estonia

Date of issue: January 2011

**Description of the design:** The design features at the centre a geographical image of Estonia. At the bottom, the word 'Eesti', which means 'Estonia'. On the top, the year '2011'.

The coin's outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag.

Edge-lettering of the 2 euro coin is: 'EESTI' repeated two times upright and inverted.

<sup>(&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>) Council Decision of 13 July 2010 in accordance with Article 140(2) of the Treaty on the adoption by Estonia of the euro on 1 January 2011 (OJ L 196, 28.7.2010, p. 24).

<sup>(&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>) See OJ C 373, 28.12.2001, p. 1; OJ C 254, 20.10.2006, p. 6 and OJ C 248, 23.10.2007, p. 8 for a reference to the other euro coins.

 $<sup>(^3)</sup>$  See OJ C 225, 19.9.2006, p. 7.