EUROPEAN CENTRAL BANK

DECISION OF THE EUROPEAN CENTRAL BANK

of 23 November 2007

on the approval of the volume of coin issuance in 2008 (ECB/2007/16)

(2007/790/EC)

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN CENTRAL BANK,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular to Article 106(2) thereof,

Having regard to Article 1 of Council Decision 2007/503/EC of 10 July 2007 in accordance with Article 122(2) of the Treaty on the adoption by Cyprus of the single currency on 1 January 2008 (1),

Having regard to Article 1 of Council Decision 2007/504/EC of 10 July 2007 in accordance with Article 122(2) of the Treaty on the adoption by Malta of the single currency on 1 January 2008 (2),

Whereas:

- (1) The European Central Bank (ECB) has the exclusive right from 1 January 1999 to approve the volume of coins issued by the Member States that have adopted the euro (hereinafter the participating Member States).
- (2) The derogation in favour of Cyprus and Malta referred to in Article 4 of the 2003 Act of Accession has been abrogated with effect from 1 January 2008.
- (3) The 13 current participating Member States, Cyprus and Malta have submitted to the ECB for approval their estimates of the volume of euro coins to be issued in 2008, supplemented by explanatory notes on the forecasting methodology,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

Approval of the volume of euro coins to be issued in 2008

The ECB hereby approves the volume of euro coins to be issued by the participating Member States in 2008 as described in the following table:

(EUR million)

	Issuance of coins intended for circulation and issuance of collector coins (not intended for circulation) in 2008
Belgium	130,0
Germany	655,0
Ireland	114,0

⁽¹⁾ OJ L 186, 18.7.2007, p. 29.

⁽²⁾ OJ L 186, 18.7.2007, p. 32.

(EUR million)

	Issuance of coins intended for circulation and issuance of collector coins (not intended for circulation) in 2008
Greece	97,3
Spain	550,0
France	500,0
Italy	375,2
Cyprus	147,4
Luxembourg	49,0
Malta	56,7
Netherlands	57,5
Austria	185,0
Portugal	50,0
Slovenia	39,0
Finland	60,0

Article 2 Final provision

This Decision is addressed to the participating Member States.

Done at Frankfurt am Main, 23 November 2007.

The President of the ECB Jean-Claude TRICHET